Forums General Hard Floors
  • Topic: Hardwood and laminate cleaning

Back To Topics
    • October 29, 2012 11:18:49 AM EDT
    • Hardwood and laminate cleaning

I am thinking of adding this service to my menu.  I have a dvd from Interlink on their new wood cleaning system and it looks simple enough, but I would like to hear from anyone in the field that has actually used it.  What production rates are you getting?  Are the product results good?  ect.  Thanks for the input.

• October 29, 2012 12:19:23 PM EDT

Bridgepoint / Interlink Supply has two wood floor cleaning systems. One is a mechanical system that has been in use for a couple of decades. I provided this service when I was an owner / operator of a cleaning business.

The actually cleaning and recoating production rate was great. Since there would be a wait time to apply a second coat of finish, I could do 100 sq. ft. in about the same time as 1,000 sq. ft. This would be two to 2 1/2 hours.

The big drawback to this service was getting the room cleared of furnishings. I had asked customers to move whatever they could from the rooms prior to my arrival. Then I and my helper would move the larger items. IT reality, they seldom moved anything. I spent more time moving funriture in and out of rooms than cleaning and recoating - Until I started charging a separate fee for furinture moving.

The newer extraction method utilizes one of several machines (Dirt Dragon or Karcher floor scrubber or Lindhaus wood floor machine). These speed up the cleaning time. Because only 1 coat of the preservation finish is usually needed, there is no need to wait for dry time between coats. That really speeds up the process. What took 2 to 2 1/2 hours can now be done in 1 hour.

In case some don't know me, I do work in technical support and product development for Bridgepoint.

This post was edited by Scott Warrington at October 29, 2012 12:20:18 PM EDT
    • October 30, 2012 9:44:23 AM EDT